Tune into the 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Books

The gala will be broadcast on CBC radio, television and online on tonight at 9:00 p.m. EST.

The gala will be broadcast on CBC radio, television and online on Monday, Nov. 13, 2023 CBC

· Posted: Nov 13, 2023 8:49 AM EST | Last Updated: November 14, 2023

The 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize gala will be broadcast live on CBC radio, television and online on Monday, Nov. 13.

The ceremony will be hosted by comedian, TV personality and author Rick Mercer.

Watch on television:  CBC at 9:00 p.m. local time (11:30 p.m. AT/12:00 a.m. NT).

Watch online:  CBCBooks.ca, CBC Gem, or YouTube at 9:00 p.m. ET.

Listen:  Find your CBC Radio One frequency or listen online with CBC Listen at 9:00 p.m. local time (10:00 p.m. AT/10:30 p.m. NT).

The Scotiabank Giller Prize awards $100,000 to the year’s best work of Canadian fiction.

The hour-long show features all the shortlisted books, revealing the winner at the end.

Everything you need to know about the 5 finalists for the $100K Scotiabank Giller Prize

The five finalists are:

Study for Obedience by Sarah Bernstein Birnam Wood by Eleanor Catton The Double Life of Benson Yu by Kevin Chong The Islands: Stories by Dionne Irving All The Colour In The World by CS Richardson Last year’s winner was S uzette Mayr for his novel The Sleeping Car Porter . 

Suzette Mayr’s novel The Sleeping Car Porter uses magic realism to highlight Black Canadian history Other past Giller Prize winners include Omar El Akkad for What Strange Paradise ,  Souvankham Thammavongsa  for   How to Pronounce Knife ,  Esi Edugyan   for  Washington Black ,  Michael Redhill  for  Bellevue Square ,  Margaret Atwood  for  Alias Grace ,  Mordecai Richler  for  Barney’s Version ,  Alice Munro  for  Runaway ,  André Alexis  for  Fifteen Dogs  and  Madeleine Thien  for  Do Not Say We Have Nothing .

Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch founded the prize in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, in 1994. Rabinovitch  died in 2017 at the age of 87 .

Read More

By admin

Leave a Reply